What a Day!

ARRRGGGG.   What a frustrating day yesterday!  It seemed like everything I touched went to hell in a hand basket.  I must not have been the only one having a bad day either… everybody around me was annoyed and grumpy.  It was very irritating.  The idiots were out in force on the roads too.  All the way into work there was some asshole that would pull in front of me and slow down.  Fortunately, I was able to get around them, and made excellent time and got to work early.

Work was especially frustrating.  I work with a number of different businesses to solve their computer problems, and there was one in particular that I just couldn’t seem to help.  Nothing I tried to do fixed his problem.  I spent pretty much the whole day on this guy.  Now I’m behind on all the other customers I’m supposed to be helping.  Today is not going to be a good day… I still haven’t solved the one problem, and I’m going to have to double up and catch up on everybody else.  I should probably ask for help on the hard one, but I hate to admit that I have failed to get this resolved.  He may just have to move to the bottom of the list.  If I can knock out some of my backlog maybe the day will be better than yesterday.

I was so busy yesterday I barely had time to keep up with my personal email.  I haven’t been out in two nights, and I want to make sure I don’t miss any email invitations to get together.  Actually, I was supposed to go out last night, but it was cold and rainy, and she didn’t want to come out.  So she cancelled at the last minute.  Honestly, that was okay though, because I really didn’t want to go out in the nasty weather either.  It would have been nice if she could have come to my house though… it was a good night to cuddle up and watch a movie together.  I guess I really don’t know her well enough to ask though; we’ve only been out twice before.  I’m going to have to find something to do tonight.  There are a couple of women I’ve been chatting with that I’d like to meet, but I have ‘real’ dates Friday and Saturday, and don’t want to blow them off just for a first meeting.  I’m really not a serial dater; I’m just keeping my options open until I can find the right one that I can settle down in a comfortable relationship.

In spite of the fact that I didn’t go out last night, it turned out to be a reasonably pleasant evening.  I opened a bottle of wine and watched a movie.  I’ve kind of been getting into the foreign films lately, and there was a good French flick about an upper classed lady who prostitutes herself during the day while her husband is at work.  And I finished the bottle of wine, so I slept really well. I was so ready to hit the bed after the movie I almost forgot to take my meds.  But I remembered right after I lay down, so I got back up and took them.  It was kind of difficult getting up this morning, especially since I wanted to get up early.  But once I had a shower and got moving it was fine.  Since I slept so hard last night maybe I won’t get sleepy this afternoon like I usually do.

At least my house is clean again.  I got up early this morning to take care of the dishes in the sink and get the living room picked up.  I’ve really got to get into my spare bedroom and do something about all those boxes!  I have all these books with nowhere to put them, and they’re just piled up in the back of the room.  My desk is in the same room, and it’s getting really hard to ignore the mess when I get on the computer.

I’m annoying myself too.  The song playing in my head is exceptionally loud today.  Usually it’s just quietly playing in the background, but today I’m actually humming it out loud.  Rick James’ “Super Freak” for crying out loud.  I keep telling myself to STOP IT every time I catch myself being loud enough for others to hear.  It’s embarrassing.

Damn!  My work phone just rang.  It’s only 7:30, who the hell is calling me?  It’s probably that jerk I was dealing with all day yesterday.  The man just can’t be satisfied.  If he’d just leave me alone to do my job, I might be able to figure out a way to help.  I guess that’s a sign that I ought to wrap this up and get busy.  I haven’t sent out my ‘good morning’ emails to my friends yet, and it’s time for a coffee refill.  I need to get all of that out of the way so I can start working on my job.  That’s what they pay me for, after all.

Maybe today will be better.

This entry was posted in Recent Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a Day!

  1. kelihasablog says:

    Congrats on the cleaning the kitchen and picking up the rest of the house. The boxes in your computer room are an easy fix (I think). Can you just put them out by your trash can on trash day? Or, if you know anyone moving, they would probably love to have empty boxes. I know I had to scrounge for some and that was just trying to de-clutter my house. (I have a tendency to collect books and small knick knacks) I want new carpet so I know they are going to tell me I have to have everything emptied out for them to move the furniture. Try to approach each day as “Today is going to be a better day” instead of with the negative thoughts. Our days often turn out to be exactly what we are expecting. As far as “Mr. Problem” goes, maybe call someone else to go and just tell them that “that one has you stumped”, don’t mention failure…. it’s just a a bump in the road… you can tell them that since you spent so much time that it has you backed up for today so he’s the end of the line or a new pair of eyes might find the problem. (that isn’t failure… lots of us need to walk away from things now and then & go back or have someone else look at it because our brain substitutes/interjects what we expect to see…. thats why we have editors 😀 …)
    Congrats on staying home. You need to have some time to yourself regardless of if you’re in a relationship or not. That’s your time to key down (so to speak), relax, calm down, & get some things down around the house that are just adding to your anxiety. Sounds like you had a really good, productive evening… Maybe just go out 3 or 4 times a week and not 6 or 7. Just a suggestion. I know even when I was young, 6 or 7 would have killed me… The women probably aren’t going out that much are they? Since you are still searching for ‘the one”, you might want to set a line in the sex department or make it VERY clear to the women that it doesn’t mean more than it is. They need to understand the situation…. What would you do if one got pregnant? I have a “condom” baby of my own, but luckily I was married. I gotta go, cats is crying at the door, gotta feed the dog and clean out the litter boxes (One inside & one on the porch), I honestly hope your day goes well… Try humming Christmas songs… lol…. maybe that will move Super Freak on out.
    Good luck!

    Like

  2. frequentneed says:

    I had the same hell in a hand basket day yesterday.

    Like

  3. zozespot says:

    Sounds hectic. Hope things come right for you soon 🙂 and enjoy the dating 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

